Museveni drops 35 ministers in new cabinet

Clockwise: Tarsis Kabwegyere has been minister for General Duties in the Office of the Prime Minister, Maria Mutagamba has been Tourism minister, Henry Kajura has been 2nd Deputy Premier and minister of Public Service, Freddie Ruhindi has been Attorney General, John Nasasira has been minister of Information and Communication Technology and Henry Banyenzaki has been State Minister for Economic Monitoring in the Office of the President

What you need to know:

Changes. Among the appointees was President’s wife, Ms Janet Kataaha, who will be the new minister for Education and Sports.

Kampala. After months of waiting, President Museveni yesterday completed his post-election reshuffle, which saw the most senior jobs remain in the same hands, others demoted and at least 35 ministers, especially the losers in the just concluded polls, dropped from his Cabinet.
Among the appointees was President’s wife, Ms Janet Kataaha, who will be the new minister for Education and Sports. Since 2009, Ms Museveni, who recently retired as Ruhama MP has been Minister for Karamoja Affairs. Ms Museveni will replace Ms Jessica Alupo, who has now been dropped from Cabinet after she failed to defend her Katakwi District Woman MP seat in Parliament.

Ms Museveni’s Karamoja docket has been given to former Works minister John Byabagambi and the architect of Mr Museveni’s sole candidature project, Ms Evelyn Anite, will take over Privatisation docket, replacing the now sacked Aston Kajara.
Other senior ministers who will not be in Cabinet are; Daudi Migereko (Lands), Henry Muganwa Kajura (Public Service), Chrispus Kiyonga (Defence), Rose Akol (Internal Affairs), Fred Ruhindi (Attorney General), Maria Mutagamba (Tourism), John Nasasira (ICT), Jim Muhwezi, (Information) and Tress Bucyanayandi (Agriculture).
Some of the lucky ones who retained their jobs are; Prime Minister Ruhakana Rugunda, Vice President Edward Ssekandi, Matia Kasaija (Finance), Gen Kahinda Otafiire (Justice), Irene Muloni (Energy) and Sam Kutesa (Foreign Affairs).

There are at least 38 new entrants, including some are MPs and others such as Lt Gen Henry Tumukunde (Security), Dr Ruth Jane Aceng (Health), Eng Ntege Azuba (Works) and Mr William Byaruhanga (Attorney General), Hajj Abdul Nadduli, the former Luweero District chairperson (Minister without Portfolio) and others have been picked from outside parliament. Hajj Nadduli is expected to replace Eng Abraham Byandala.
For all the appointees to be confirmed ministers, they will have to be approved by the Parliamentary Appointment Committee, chaired by Speaker Rebecca Kadaga. However, the Vice President and Prime Minister are not approved by the House vetting committee; they are approved by the committee of the Whole House.
Those who were picked outside Parliament will also be required to take oath of office to become ex-officio Members of Parliament.

The law
In a list released through the Presidential Press Secretary, Ms Linda Nabusaayi, yesterday, Mr Museveni announced that “In exercise of powers conferred on the President by Articles 108(1), 108 (2), 113(1), 114(1) and Article 99(1) of the Constitution, I have appointed the Vice President, the Prime Minister, created new departments and appointed Cabinet ministers and Ministers of State.”