Bogey-free round puts Madalitso top of pack

Friday September 13 2019

2015 winner Madalitso equalled the co

2015 winner Madalitso equalled the course record with a round of 66 to go three clear at Serena Kigo. PHOTO BY EDDIE CHICCO 


KAMPALA- It is a measure of how good Zambia’s Muthiya Madalitso played yesterday at Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa that he was left ruing a missed opportunity for the outright course record.

Madalisto shot a record-equaling 66 to go three strokes clear at the 14th Castle Lite Uganda Professionals Open and will be fancying his chances after two near-perfect rounds of golf. “I could have gone lower than 66,” Madalitso reflected in the club house “if I putted slightly better.” Still he can be happy with his efforts for he sits in a position his rivals can only envy.

“Chasing the leaders was my motivation when I teed off in the morning because I never wanted to be far off. “It was thus important to play a solid round.”

Madalitso shot a bogey-free round thanks largely to excellent drives from the tee box that landed in the middle of the fairways.
Madalitso won the Uganda Professionals Open in 2015 and has the temperament to hold his nerve in critical moments, as he did when making a birdie on the 16th after immaculately playing a magnificent third shot out of the bunker.

His rivals for the trophy will be fellow Southern Africans Charamba Tongoona of Zimbabwe and Day One leader Irvin Thato Mazibuko who are both locked on 141. Mazibuko shot a one-over 73 and remains in firm contention.

Such is his focus that he was back on the putting green late in the evening as the tournament enters the business end.
With a cut of +8, only five Ugandans managed to sneak through on a day that started with an early morning downpour before conditions improved with clear weather in the mid-morning and afternoon.


Abraham Ainamani, Emmanuel Onito Opio Jr, Philip Kasozi, Rodell Gaita and Denis Asaba are the only Ugandans left ahead of today’s third round. Defending champion Dismas Indiza of Kenya made the cut but his chances of holding onto his crown are very slim.

1. Muthiya Madalitso (ZAM) 72 66 138
T2. Charamba Tongoona (ZIM)) 70 71 141
T2. Irvin Thato Mazibuko (RSA) 68 73 141
T4. Rizwan Charania (KEN) 75 67 142
T4. Meyer Breyten (RSA) 75 67 142
T6. Nel Andre (RSA) 76 68 144
T6. Robson Chinhoi (ZIM) 71 73 144
T8. Stephen Ferreira (ZIM) 76 69 145
T8. Mohit Mediratta (KEN) 76 69 145
T8. Abraham Ainamani (UGA) 73 72 145