Heathens cap recovery season with title

Monday April 1 2019

Heathens players celebrate their 14th trophy

Heathens players celebrate their 14th trophy on Saturday at Kyadondo Rugby grounds. PHOTO BY EDDIE CHICCO 

By Deus Bugembe

KAMPALA- Hima Cement Heathens are back where they belong after winning a record 14th league title with a 18-13 last day victory on Saturday at Kyadondo.

The title will come as relief and a sign of reclamation after Heathens finished fifth last season, the lowest they have done in the league history.

“This shows that we can always bounce back. The champions in us have resurfaced by moving from fifth to first place in one year,” captain Michael Wokorach who watched the last game from the sidelines with Hong Kong Sevens duties due told Daily Monitor.

Heathens` off season was a busy one with 11 new faces coming in, seven coming Buffaloes. The gamble has paid off with a title winning campaign that saw them lose once. All the signings have played roles in getting a maiden league medal.
Charles Uhuru who captained the side against Warriors could not hide his excitement.

“I’m very delighted because this is my first league title and I hope many more come. Gerald Ssewankambo, Paul Masendi, Robert Masendi, Olet Diego Simon and Paul Epillo all formerly of Buffaloes all broke their league ducks.

Apart from the signings, Heathens have had a coaching duo of Mohammed Athiyo, Tolbert Onyango who all bring something to the table.
In a season that had two other strong title rivals in Betway Kobs and Stanbic Pirates, Heathens` maturity, discipline, resilience and patience got them the gong without playing the best rugby.

“It`s been hard work, teamwork and not giving up,” Athiyo described Heathens` season.
They started slow and were guilty of failing to pick up bonus points but showed up when it mattered most especially in the home victories against Pirates and Kobs.

Even after losing the log leadership at some stage , they fought their way back thanks to that famous 14-30 Pirates` win at Kobs.

Heathens 18-13 Warriors
Kobs 16-10 Rhinos
Black Pirates 57-06 Rams
Buffaloes 15-28 Jinja Hippos
Walukuba 19-45 Mongers

Past Winners
1991: Heathens
1992: Heathens
1993: Heathens
1994: Not held
1995: Kobs
1996: Impis
1997: Kobs
1998: Kobs
1999: Kobs
2000: Kobs
2001: Kobs
2002: Heathens
2003: Kobs
2004: Heathens
2005: Heathens
2006: Kobs
2007: Kobs
2008: Kobs
2009: Heathens
2010: Heathens
2011: Heathens
2012: Heathens
2013: Heathens
2014: Kobs
2015: Heathens
2016: Kobs
2017: Heathens
2018: Pirates
2019: Heathens
League titles
Heathens: 14, Kobs:
12, Impis 1 &
Pirates: 1