Eddy Kenzo wins BET ‘Best New International Artist’ award

Eddy Kenzo (2nd left) posing for a photo after he was declared winner of Viewer's Choice Best New International Artist on Sunday evening. Courtesy photo

-Uganda's dancehall artist Edrisa Musuuza, known professionally by his stage name as Eddy Kenzo clinched the ‘Viewer's Choice Best New International Artist’ gong at the 2015 BET Awards held at the Microsoft Theatre in Los Angeles.
Kenzo became the first Ugandan artiste to ever win a Black Entertainment Television (BET) Award on Sunday evening.
The new category was decided by fans which helped Kenzo beat two new African artistes in South Africa's Cassper Nyovest, Ghana's Mz Vee and three from the UK in George The Poet, MIC Lowry and Novelist to the award.

Shortly after the ceremony, the visibly ecstatic Kenzo took to social to thank his fans for voting for him.
“Before I say anything let me dedicate this award to all Ugandans wherever you are in the world, it has been a long journey; it's the first of its kind in East Africa. this is for Uganda, Uganda really needed this. To all my fans all over the world thanks for the support and the voting May God bless you. Am coming home God is the greatest,” wrote the Sitya loss singer.
Kenzo’s ‘Sitya Loss’ took him to another level internationally after the video was so captivating with well-choreographed dancing kids.

The video garnered global attention and over 7 million YouTube views, making it the highest viewed Ugandan video here and fifth in Africa, last year.
BET Awards are organised annually by America's Black Entertainment Television network to celebrate African Americans and other minorities in music, acting, sports, and other fields of entertainment.
The other African artists nominated on the included South Africa's Aka and The Soil, Nigeria's Wizkid and Yemi Alade, Ghana's Sarkodie and Stonebwoy, DRC's Fally Ipupa and Kenya's Sauti Sol , all in the "Best International Act: Africa" category.

Here are all the winners;
Best New International Artist
Casper Nyovest
Eddy Kenzo-- WINNER
George the Poet
Mic Lowry
Best International Act UK
FKA Twigs
Fuse ODG
Lethal Bizzle
Little Simz
Stormzy-- WINNER
Best International Act Africa
Stonebwoy-- WINNER
Fally Ipupa
Sauti Sol
The Soil
Yemi Alade
Best Female R&B/Pop Artist
Beyoncé-- WINNER
Janelle Monáe
Jhene Aiko
K. Michelle
Best Male R&B/Pop Artist
Chris Brow- WINNER
Trey Songz
The Weekend
August Alsina
John Legend
Best Group
A$AP Mob
Rae Sremmurd-- WINNER
Rich Gang
Young Money
Best Collaboration
Chris Brown Ft. Lil Wayne and Tyga – “Loyal”
Big Sean Ft. E-40 – “IDFWU”
August Alsina Ft. Nicki Minaj – “No Love”
Chris Brown Ft. Usher and Rick Ross – “New Flame”
Common and John Legend – “Glory”-- WINNER
Mark Ronson Ft. Bruno Mars – “Uptown Funk”
Best Male Hip Hop Artist
Kendrick Lamar--WINNER
Big Sean
J. Cole
Best Female Hip Hop Artist
Azealia Banks
Dej Loaf
Iggy Azalea
Nicki Minaj-- WINNER
Video Of The Year
Beyonce – “7/11”--WINNER
Big Sean Ft. E-40 – “IDFWU”
Chris Brown Ft. Lil Wayne and Tyga – “Loyal”
Chris Brown Ft. Usher and Rick Ross – “New Flame”
Common and John Legend – “Glory”
Nicki Minaj – “Anaconda”
Video Director Of The Year
Benny Boom
Beyonce, Ed Burke and Todd Tourso-- WINNER
Chris Robinson
Fatima Robinson
Hype Williams
Best New Artist
Bobby Shmurda
Dej Loaf
Fetty Wap
Rae Sremmurd
Sam Smith--WINNER
Best Gospel Artist
Michelle Williams
Erica Campbell
Deitrick Haddon
Fred Hammond
Mali Music
Lecrae-- WINNER
Best Actress
Gabrielle Union
Kerry Washington
Taraji P. Henson--WINNER
Tracee Ellis Ross
Viola Davis
Best Actor
Anthony Anderson
Idris Elba
Jussie Smollet
Kevin Hart
Terrence Howard--WINNER
Youngstars Award
Jacob Latimore
Jaden Smith
Mo’ne Davis--WINNER
Quvenzhane Wallis
Zendaya Coleman
Best Movie
“Beyond the Lights”
“Selma”-- WINNER
“Think Like a Man Too”
“Top Five”
Sportswoman Of The Year
Brittney Griner
Candace Parker
Serena Williams-- WINNER
Skylar Diggins
Venus Williams
Sportsman Of The Year
Chris Paul
Floyd Mayweather Jr.
LeBron James
Marshawn Lynch
Stephen Curry-- WINNER
Viewer’s Choice Award
The Weekend –“Earned It”
Kendrick Lamar – “I”
Dej Loaf – “Try Me”
Rae Sremmurd Ft. Nicki Minaj and Young Thug – “Throw Sum Mo”
Beyonce –“7/11”
Nicki Minaj Ft. Drake, Lil Wayne and Chris Brown – “Only”--WINNER
Centric Award
Avery Sunshine – “Call My Name”
Jazmine Sullivan Ft. Meek Mill – “Dumb”
Mark Ronson Ft. Bruno Mars – “Uptown Funk”
Sam Smith Ft. Mary J. Blige –“Stay With Me”
The Weekend – “Earned It”-- WINNER


Tom Joyner


Janet Jackson


Chris Brown