Top EC bosses fired amidst graft probe

Electoral Commission Secretary Sam Rwakoojo (right) and spokesperson Jotham Taremwa. PHOTO | FILE

What you need to know:

  • In 1996, Mr Rwakoojo was elected Member of Parliament to represent Rwemiyaga County in Sembabule District. He also served as Chairman on the Finance, Economic Planning and Development Sessional Committee 1996, and a member on the Defence and Internal Affairs Sessional Committee.

At least eight senior Electoral Commission (EC) officials, including Sam Rwakoojo, the accounting officer who doubles as the Secretary to the Electoral Commission, have been fired amid an on-going investigation into accusations of corruption.


You're all set to enjoy unlimited Prime content.